Author Interview: Zoraida Córdova

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina is a gorgeously written novel about a family searching for the truth hidden in their past and the power they’ve inherited. We spoke with author Zoraida Córdova about the inspiration for The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina, the booksellers who have supported her, and more!

The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina

By Zoraida Córdova • Narrated by Frankie Corzo

“This story sparkles and enchants! It’s a rich and layered multigeneration saga featuring strong women and a mystery veiled in magical realism that will tease and feed your imagination.”

Grace, University Book Store

Please tell us a little bit about what inspired you to write this book and how this story took shape for you.

I start every book with an image. For this one, it was the image of a woman who turned into a tree. Then, I zoomed out, figuring out the who, what, where, and why of it all until I had a full novel.

In two sentences or less, what’s something that might surprise Libro.fm listeners about your audiobook?

There’s a big time jump, but it’s all about healing and hibernating to be ready for what comes next.

Have you listened to your own audiobook? What struck you about the narration?

I don’t generally listen to the full audiobooks. I don’t ever reread the finished book! But, I do listen to the beginning chapter, and I love Frankie Corzo’s narration. She’d narrated a few of my other novels, and I love having her on board. She’s expressive and has a pitch-perfect tone that makes you want to keep listening.

Are you an audiobook listener? What are some of your favorite audiobooks?

I am! I’ve recently loved Saint by Sierra Simone, Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo, and The Heart Principle by Helen Hoang.

Ninth House

By Leigh Bardugo • Narrated by Lauren Fortgang & Michael David Axtell

The Heart Principle

By Helen Hoang • Narrated by Brian Nishii & Natalie Naudus

What have independent bookstores and/or booksellers meant to you personally and professionally?

Indie bookstores have been a huge part of my career. I have great relationships with the bookstores in New York (the city and upstate) who constantly support and hand-sell my books. Even stores like Brazos Bookstores in Texas or The Raven in Kansas, which aren’t my hometowns, have always welcomed me for events. It means a lot, especially for the midlist!

Anything else to share with us?

Only that I hope everyone loves The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina as much as I do!


Header photo by Melanie Barbosa

Get a free audiobook!

Start a new Libro.fm membership in support of your bookstore and get a bonus audiobook credit.

Looking for the perfect gift?

Libro.fm gift memberships allow you to give 3, 6, or 13 audiobooks to the readers in your life!

Kelsey Norris is a writer, editor, former bookseller, and Libro.fm's Content Marketing Manager. She is currently based in DC. Find more of her work at www.kelseynorris.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *