Your Audiobook Guide to Book Awards

It’s easy to feel intimidated by book awards—numerous shortlists, longlists, and winners are announced all year round, universally prestigious in their own right—so we collected some of the biggest ones to watch here so you can stay on top of it all. Because these books are selected by esteemed juries or voted upon by the masses, they are great jumping-off points to build up your to-be-read list. Read on to browse our audiobook playlists to help you hone in on the best of the best!

Major Book Awards

The Pulitzer Prizes

Honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917, The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine, online journalism, literature and musical composition within the United States.


The Booker Prize

The Booker Prize (formerly known as the Booker Prize for Fiction and the Man Booker Prize) is a literary prize awarded each year for the best novel written in English. The 2021 winner is The Promise by Damon Galgut.


John Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (a division of the American Library Association) to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The Medal Winner for 2021 is When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller.


National Book Critics Circle Awards

Each year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.


National Book Awards

The National Book Awards are a set of annual literary awards to celebrate the best literature in America. Longlists for 2021 were announced September 15th-17th, finalists on October 5th, and the winners on November 17th.


Women’s Prize for Fiction

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating and honoring fiction written by women. The 2021 winner is Piranesi by Susanna Clarke, which is unfortunately exclusive to Audible. Learn more about the impact of Audible-exclusive audiobooks.


Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards are a set of annual literary awards recognizing English-language books by writers based in Britain and Ireland since 1971. The 2021 winners will be announced January 3rd, 2022, and the Costa Book of the Year will be announced Tuesday, February 1st, 2022.


The Hugo Awards

Widely considered the premier award in science fiction, The Hugo Awards are an annual literary award for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year, given at the World Science Fiction Convention and chosen by its members. The 2021 winners will be announced December 15th-19th.


Other Awards

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, established in 2012, recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year and serve as a guide to help adults select quality reading material. The 2021 winners were Deacon King Kong by James McBridge and Fathoms: The World in the Whale by Rebecca Giggs, and the 2022 shortlist is below.


Audie Awards

The Audie Awards® is the most prestigious award recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.


AudioFile Earphone Awards

The Earphones Award is awarded monthly by AudioFile to truly exceptional titles that excel in narrative voice and style, characterizations, suitability to audio, and enhancement of the text.


Center for Fiction First Novel Prize

The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, first awarded in 2006, was created to honor the best debut fiction of the year. The winner receives a $15,000 prize, with each shortlisted author receiving $1,000. The winner will be announced in December.


Edgar® Awards

Each spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the mystery and crime genre.


Lambda Literary Awards

Created over 30 years ago to recognize the crucial role LGBTQ writers play in shaping the world, the Lammys celebrate the very best in LGBTQ literature.


Nebula Awards

The Nebula Awards annually recognize the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States. The awards are organized and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, a nonprofit association of professional science fiction and fantasy writers.


Odyssey Awards

A list of the winning and honor audiobooks for the 2021 Odyssey Award for best audiobooks produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.


Pen America Literary Award

Since 1963, the PEN America Literary Awards Program has honored outstanding voices in fiction, poetry, science writing, essays, biography, children’s literature, translation, drama, and more. 


Pen/Faulkner Award

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction honors the best published works of fiction by American permanent residents in a calendar year. This year’s winner is The Secret Lives of Church Ladies by Deesha Philyaw.


The Walter Awards

Presented by We Need Diverse Books, the Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children’s Literature recognize diverse authors whose works feature diverse main characters and address diversity in a meaningful way.


The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction

Honoring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction celebrates quality of writing in the English language, and is open to novels published in the previous year in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth.


What’s your favorite book award?

Comment below!

Get a free audiobook!

Start a new membership in support of your bookstore and get a bonus audiobook credit.

Looking for the perfect gift? gift memberships allow you to give 3, 6, or 13 audiobooks to the readers in your life!

Jenna Homen works on all things related to social media and the community. When not reading and listening to books, she is probably painting or hiking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *